That Time Tolkien Took Over Expo

14344205_10155117516841002_5760039311260318748_n.jpg

Billy Boyd and Sean Astin are well known as Hobbits SamWise Gamgee and Peregren Took aka Pippin from Lord of the Rings. But Sean Astin was known before that. I grew up with him as a Goonie long before he was a hobbit.

When they came to Calgary Expo in 2014 I was extremely excited. Sean Astin had been a child crush for me. The Goonies to this day is one of my all time favourite movies. Mikey is the dorky kid that saves everyone thanks to one eyed willy’s map! Who would not want to meet him! Plus its Pippin and Sam! Both pretty amazing characters in their own right!

I took my photo op with them and it was so amazing. They were so nice and gave every fan a hug before the picture. You could tell they really appreciated their fans. As a friend and I were walking around. Billy Boyd who is a fantastic singer starts singing from his autograph table and the whole expo stopped and just stood there while he sang.

The cool thing was the hobbits were not the only ones in attendance! 3 Dwarfs from the movie The Hobbit were also at Expo!

14996431_10155261697771002_1069233717_n

Dean O’Gorman, Mark Hadlow and Jed Brophy aka Fili, Dori and Nori were wonderful guys to meet! You could tell they had major appreciation for not only the characters they played but for the fans and Middle Earth as a whole! They were beyond nice and stood and chatted with everyone. Plus and I think this was the best part of the entire day. As I went to take my picture I shook all their hands and said I wore my Hobbit shirt just for this. They all complimented me on my style choice and then ALL THREE OF THEM HUMMED THE MISTY MOUNTAIN SONG until the picture was done!!!! This was literally one of the best moments of my life! And that is why my face is beyond dorky in the Dwarf picture!

Expo lesson of the day. If you make sure your clothes match the picture extremely cool things can happen during the picture!

 

One thought on “That Time Tolkien Took Over Expo

Leave a Reply

